My Tribe

No meditation or poem this week. Hopefully, I will come with something today that I can post next Sunday. But I did want to vaguely share an experience I had yesterday. I am being vague in order to protect them and myself from any kind of intrusion.

I am part of a small group of people that have gotten together since July. It has been a time of deep inner exploration and sharing the things that we have not taken the time to think about, but have affected us in major ways. On top of a global pandemic, it has been quite intense.

We had a project where we had to share something that was difficult for us to share. One of the things we have to do in this group is journal, and I shared some things I had written since July while being part of this group in my journal. What I wrote was inspired by things we had talked about in the group, so I felt it was appropriate to share it. And it was nice to verbally share what I write, which it is not something I normally do. This was also a challenging aspect, which was one of the objectives of this project.

I got to share things about myself with people outside my family without mockery, judgment, assumptions or feeling like I was being forced to put on some type of show because we all were doing the same thing. I have been treated very badly by certain people over the last few years, and it has definitely reinforced my belief that not everyone is worthy of being fully let into my world. I felt so good to be so vulnerable and not worry that people would find my pain funny or somehow use it against me. I let the tears flow with no worries about what they might think (there were actually a lot of tears shed in this experience).

Outside of family, these are the nicest, most down to earth, nonjudgmental people I have ever met in a long time. We all can relate to each other’s pain and Everyone there is worthy of being a part of my world, and it is nice to know that there are still people out there could be that special to me. As I get older, I will continue to be more selective about who I let inside my world and will readily cut people out of it if they demonstrate they cannot respect it.

Unless otherwise noted, all written material and images were created by the blogger, Chimi. You may share and record for your own use, but all images and text are copyrighted and cannot be used for commercial purposes without the permission of the owner.

Leave a comment