(Dis)Belief

Photo by Josh Applegate on Unsplash

The root of my fears is uncertainty.

I used to believe what I was fed

By my parents’ beliefs and expectations

By the Catholic schools I attended

By society’s expectations.

There is a level of security in simply accepting what I was told.

And there is a reward for believing it.

The reward of belonging,

The reward of being told you are a good little member of society.

The reward of not having to explain a position that is “outside the norm”.

But as I got older,

I questioned those belief and expectations,

And as I have gotten older many of my strongest beliefs have fallen away

I do not have a strong set of beliefs on many issues,

Because I realize that many people have many beliefs,

Beliefs are not always based on logic or compassion, and

Beliefs can be dangerous, even ones that have been around for  a long time.

I want to be tolerant and accepting

I want to be logical and compassionate

I do not want to be dangerous

But with that loss in beliefs, there is no grounding

People demand answers and expect a “right” one, the one that matches their own beliefs

But all I have is uncertainty.

What happens when people die?

What happens when people live in a way that is outside of what society says is ok, even if they are not hurting anyone?

I refuse to adopt beliefs to make people comfortable or even to make myself feel comfortable in a group.

I cannot do it.

At this point, I am going to have to get comfortable with not knowing,

And maybe I should stop pursuing such big questions at the moment.

When I am almost the age that represents the answer to everything,

I have to admit I know nothing.

Unless otherwise noted, all written material and images were created by the blogger, Chimi. You may share and record for your own use, but all images and text are copyrighted and cannot be used for commercial purposes without the permission of the owner.

Leave a comment