Sat Yam Meditation Expanded

Photo by Mesh on Unsplash

One of my yoga teacher’s favorite meditation is Sat Yam, so she likes to have us do it before and after our yoga session.

Satyam comes from Satya, which is”Sanskrit for “truth”. After one of our sessions, this idea came to me. As you can tell by my blog, I like working with the chakras, and my favorite personal meditations often involve going through my chakras. If you are not sure what a chakra is, there are plenty of resources on the internet and books available, or look at one of the many other meditations I have written in this blog.

The most basic Sat Yam meditation is to inhale down to the Root Chakra and up to the Heart Chakra, and then exhale up through the Heart Chakra all the way up to the Crown Chakra. In my own creation, I take you through each chakra with each inhale and exhale.

In this one, you can visualize the inhale and exhale, even if that is not what you are doing. 

I cannot believe that it will be almost 10 years since I started this blog. I was at a low place, bored, and thought this blog would be purely dedicated to photography. I have been writing for a long time now, and for some reason, I found it easier to share my writing with strangers. But this past year, which was by no means easy for most of us, has given me the courage and opportunity to share what I write with people who are very special to me.

Enjoy! And for those who like and follow me, thank you. Hopefully I have at least 10 more years of writing inside me that I can share.

***Please note that Martin Luther King, Jr. Day is on Monday, January 17, 2021 in the United States. He is my favorite historical person and stood for truth. I hope people who truly care about the state of the world, especially as we in the United States transition to a new presidential administration, will work towards a more equal and just society for all.***

Sat 

Inhale the truth of what is into the base of yourYam spine, your existence, your ability to take care of yourself, and to create security.

(Exhale and pause)

Sat

Inhale the truth of your emotions, your creativity, and your ability to receive and give abundance.

(Exhale and pause)

Sat

Inhale from the base of your spine up to your navel; the truth of your personal power, the truth of who you are, the truth that you are worthy of good things.

(Exhale and pause)

Sat

Inhale from the base of your spine to your heart space in the center of your chest; love, compassion, and forgiveness for yourself and others.

(Exhale and pause)

(Inhale and pause)

Yam

Exhale from your heart space to your Throat Chakra; the expression of thoughts and feelings.

(Inhale and pause)

Yam

Exhale from your heart space to your Third Eye; the burse of imagination, the stability of wisdom, the safety of intuition, and the pursuing of intelligence.

(Inhale and pause)

Yam

Exhale from your heart to the Crown of your head; the awesomeness of Divinity, the joy of connection

(Inhale and pause)

(Exhale and pause)

(Inhale and pause)

(Exhale and pause)

(Inhale and pause)

(Exhale and pause)

Inhale Sat from the base of your spine to your heart space.

Exhale Yam from your heart space to the crown of your head and out into the universe.

Inhale Sat from the base of your spine to your heart space.

Exhale Yam from your heart space to the crown of your head and out into the universe.

Inhale Sat from the base of your spine to your heart space.

Exhale Yam from your heart space to the crown of your head and out into the universe.

Inhale Sat….exhale Yam

Inhale Sat….exhale Yam

Inhale Sat….exhale Yam

Unless otherwise noted, all written material and images were created by the blogger, Chimi. You may share, but all images and text are copyrighted and cannot be used for commercial purposes without the permission of the owner.

Leave a comment